shamelessly stolen from a fortuitous google result

I found a new blog.

It’s pretty cool, although I realized just now that I didn’t bookmark it. Idiot.

It’s Friday. I’m at work, sitting in a windowless room, exhausted and counting down the 84 or so minutes until I get to leave, so what else would I be doing but procrastinating?

This ought to help in that capacity. Plus, unless this is your first time around these parts, you know I love this crap. It must be my deep and abiding inner arrogance, to think that anyone cares what I think about these things…

Explain what ended your last relationship?
Define relationship.  Mainly? A sudden realization that, wow, this was never going to work or make me happy. Luckily? It was before it really ever got off the ground.  But that was a while ago.

When was the last time you shaved?
Yesterday, I think.

What were you doing this morning at 8 a.m.?
Bashing my snooze alarm one last time.

What were you doing 15 minutes ago?
Trolling the internet for fun things to send in a package.

Are you any good at math?
Uhm, no.  Never. Except for algebra–I just get algebra.

Your prom night, what do you remember about it?
I was excited.  I looked cute.  I spent hours on my hair, only to realize in pictures that I should have left it down.  Dinner at my house. I made placecards.  We spent like a total of 45 minutes at the dance and danced twice. I was IN LOVE with my date…sadly. I always managed to choose badly until recently. We went and watched movies at his house afterwards with the couple that doubled with us.

Do you have any famous ancestors?
Supposedly, I’m related to William Dawes, who was like the second-string Paul Revere during that important night.  Our family is pretty proud of that.
 

Have you had to take a loan out for school?
Oh yeah. Although, for 10 years of school, I’m not doing badly. Yeah for AmeriCorps and my dedication to public service.

Last thing received in the mail?
The Ensign, my In Style bill, and a couple of other bill-like things. 

How many different beverages have you had today?
Water.  That’s it. 

Do you ever leave messages on people’s answering machine?
Yes…but I basically hate it unless I know you well.  Then I’m fun.

Do you draw your name in the sand when you go to the beach?
Not routinely, no.  I think I’ve done it before, though.  I am more sad, though, that I can’t manage to remember how to successfully build a sand castle. Does one either have to be a child or the mother of one in order to remember?

What’s the most painful dental procedure you’ve had?
Definitely getting my wisdom teeth pulled.  Horrors–since I was awake. I was shaking–and I don’t shake.

What is out your back door?
Don’t have a back door.  My door leads to the parking lot.  My metaphorical back door? Leads to high school teaching or a life as a pastry chef.

Any plans for Friday night?
Dancing it up in Orlando.

Do you like what the ocean does to your hair?
Absolutely not.  Salt and my fine hair=big sticky, crinkly mess. 

Have you ever received one of those big tins of 3 different popcorns?
No. I don’t know what I would do with one other than use it as a footstool. 

Have you ever been to a planetarium?
Of course. I’ve even taken students to the planetarium. I haven’t been in a while, though. 

Do you re-use towels after you shower?
I do.

Some things you are excited about?
Feeling smart about my dissertation, even momentarily. The prospect of getting a letter from my best friend.  Falling in love…someday, I hope, soon.  Life in general is pretty exciting.

What is your favorite flavor of JELL-O?
I can only tolerate Jell-o in small doses. It scares me.  The only one I really love is my mom’s cranberry jell-o Thanksgiving concoction.  It’s yummy.

Describe your keychain(s)?
Teal carabiner, all scratched up from use.  A blue “We’re glad you’re here” plastic keychain that I got when I moved up to grad school from my apartment complex.  I’ve kept it because it just seems hopeful and kind to see all of the time. It also reminds me that, yes, I’m supposed to be here.

Where do you keep your change?
In my car, in one of the cupholders. At home, in a little pot that says it holds the ashes of my problem students.  All quarters, however, go straight to the laundry fund in a wooden box.

When was the last time you spoke in front of a large group of people?
Bore my testimony a couple of weeks ago. That was probably 80-90 people, easy.

What kind of winter coat do you own?
I live in Florida.  While I own a winter coat, it is likely three sizes too big now and resides in a closet in North Carolina.  I own a black fleece jacket and a orange hoodie. I need to invest in some sweatshirts since, apparently, 65=cold now.

What was the weather like on your graduation day?
It was nightmarishly hot for all.  On my undergrad college graduation day, since I had to sit in the heat in my cap and gown, my family was legitimately afraid that I was getting the first signs of heat stroke.  High school was at night, so it wasn’t SO bad. I was already in Florida for my first grad school graduation.  Who wanted to go anyways?

Do you sleep with the door to your room open or closed?
Open. Always. 

Leave a Reply

