joyous strain

i finished the prospectus draft last night.

it was a low-key event, although i desperately wanted to celebrate loudly and with force. it has been four months of psychotic freakout in the making.  strangely, it was a surreally easy experience to finish. all of the thoughts were there, and they managed to make their way onto the page without weeping, wailing, or gnashing of teeth.

but when i finished, the moment passed quietly because my poor sick mom was already asleep, and there was no way i was going to wake her up with my ridiculousness.

so no celebration. no “yay for me” in that moment. and that was okay by me, honestly, because i don’t want to make a bigger deal out of it than it really is.

but really, it is.

mainly because i made it that way. but now it’s done. and as soon as i can find a place with wireless internet, that bad boy is taking an express route to my director’s inbox.  do not pass go.  do not collect $200. 

seriously, yay for me. it intimidated the heck out of me, i spent a month avoiding it, but it’s done.

and it’s good, if i do say so myself. not perfect. not completely finished forever. but for a draft?

it’s good.

why did i doubt? i AM good at what i do, despite what i might think sometimes.  i am talented and smart and quick.  i don’t know why i let other people call that into any kind of question. 

so, yay for me! i shall shout it loudly here…

MY PROSPECTUS DRAFT IS DONE! HALLELUJAH!

i mean, ’tis the season for the hallelujah chorus, right?

3 Responses to “joyous strain”

  1. the monopoly allusion brought back intense memories. I’m still surprised no weapons (aside from rhetoric) was drawn.

  2. rhetoric is the best weapon there is.

    except when, for whatever reason, you can’t think of anything brilliant to say until four hours later. that is my problem lately in some areas of my life. drives me BATTY.

    but rhetoric beats switchblades any day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

