when the world gets in my face, i say…have a nice day

So I’m trying to learn patience and express gratitude rather than remain in the weird funk that I have found myself in of late.  So, as I was driving to school today, I began listing all of the things that I was grateful for out loud. I must have looked pretty funny to the cars around me, but (not surprisingly) it elevated me out of the drudgery I was wallowing in.

So today’s blog post is about what I’m grateful for–well, only a few in particular categories.  I couldn’t possibly list them all and do you really want to know that I am really grateful for Scooby Doo fruit snacks, with the electric blue Scooby heads and the green Mystery Machine and the 80 calorie price tag?  I don’t think so.  Wow. I want to Netflix Scooby right now!

FAMILY

I am always grateful for my family, but I got to thinking today how grateful I am that my grandpa moved out of his ghetto apartment building into a community where he can maintain his independence but is always taken care of. There is a cafeteria, so that he doesn’t have to make his meals every weeknight, but it’s closed on weekends so he still has to take care of himself. I think it’s good for him. It’s secure and safe, and full of friendly people that he will get along with. There’s a library and a barber shop, so he never has to worry about going too far when he’s not feeling well.  And, best of all, it’s close to shopping so that he can tool around in his electric wheelchair cart whenever he feels like an adventure.

It is a huge blessing and he is so happy. My Mimi would have really liked it there too, and he knows that. I think that’s part of the reason why he likes it so much.  I am certain that she is looking down on the whole scene with pride.

FRIENDS

I have so many friends and, even though I’m feeling very antisocial of late, I keep gaining new ones.  It’s a huge blessing.  But right now I am especially grateful for a friend that I was complaining and whining to who told me to start praying about what I was complaining and whining about.  I am so grateful that she was bold enough to tell me what to do. It was what I needed to hear and it has brought, already, some slow but good changes in my heart.  I like that.

I am also very grateful (I know this is cheating, but it’s my blog) for the fact that the conflict is over with one particular friend.  It’s like a 4000 pound weight has been lifted off of me.  I hate fighting with anyone, but with this person?  Torturous.

SPIRITUAL

I have been praying about something in particular over the past few nights and not really feeling any huge revelations. That’s been the hallmark of my summer though–while I don’t feel that the Lord is far from me, I feel that He is letting me choose quite often now rather than firmly directing me as He has in past months.  I did, however, feel prompted to pick up Elder Henry B. Eyring’s book (which was sitting on my nightstand) To Draw Closer to God.  What a miraculous thing it is to have prophets and Apostles.  What a miracle it is to have the gift of the Holy Ghost.  I am so grateful for it, and for its ability to pierce my heart when nothing else seems to.  I am never sorry when I read or study something that the prophet or the Apostles have said.  Never.  I am so blessed to know what I know.

MENTAL

Well, I’m going to classify this as school. I am hecka grateful for my class this summer.  I’ve only met with them twice, but I can already tell it’s going to be a great summer. Challenging, definitely–they have minds and opinions of their own, and they’re willing to voice them.  I had a moment today when a student challenged something I said–not disrespectfully by any means, but just challenging–when I wondered if I could handle it and then, just a second later, all of my experience and my confidence in teaching kicked in and I handled it.  It was cool.

I told my students that they could either talk and make the semester go by happily or they could not talk and it could be torture. I think I might have opened up a can of loudness with that comment. I may have to reign them in a little bit, but it’s so great. I forget how much I really like teaching writing during Summer B.  It’s fantastic.

MATERIAL

I am really grateful that my $2 Old Navy black flipflops are as comfortable as they are.  They were a steal, and I needed them, and they look cute and they are so comfortable. I am very grateful for that. It seems a small blessing, but it’s actually a big one.  I am also grateful that I resisted the temptation to buy all manner of cute clothes that would have fit and looked cute at Old Navy last night. They’re having a sale and I was feeling down–bad combination usually. But I just looked and was happy to do so and then left with what I came for.  And when I got home? I was happy with what I had in my closet.  That’s also a wonderful blessing.

It’s been a good day. I’m not going to the fireworks tonight. I know that it’s on my list of supersocial summertime things to do, but I just don’t feel like it. It’s hot, and rainy, and there are going to be a million people there. Instead, I’ll stay home and get some things done and watch “The Winds of War.” For a miniseries from 1983, it’s surprisingly good.  I feel smarter every time I watch a part of it.  I love Netflix.

Have a good Independence Day!

One Response to “when the world gets in my face, i say…have a nice day”

  1. Sapphire Says:

    Dood I totally have like five pairs of old navy flip flops. THEY ARE SO CHEAP AND EASY TO COLOR COORDINATE. I couldn’t resist…

Leave a Reply

