experiment and results

I am embarking upon one of the great experiments of all time, to prove whether one age-old adage is true.

Do blondes really have more fun?

Brillig says no, but I fear that is because her experimental phase went a little…orange.  Can’t fault her for that.  Plus, I’m pretty sure she’s just an anomaly because she’s fun all of the time.  I’ve never heard of someone having THAT much fun in real life.  Ever. 

But I digress.

One box of Loreal Preference shade 8G (Golden Blonde, for those of you playing at home) set me on my way.

Believe me when I tell you that I was more than a little nervous as I started. See,  I haven’t done my own color in at least a year and a half. Not since I met my hair guy and he told me, on my first visit to his chair, that I had all the wrong color on my hair.

Color me deflated–and no pun intended. I thought I was doing a pretty good job.

Nevertheless, since I met him I’ve been red, dark brown, and most recently light brown with light blonde and golden blonde highlights.  I mean, I was pretty blonde, but not completely.  Not whole hog. Not “I’m dumping this color on my hair and hoping for the best” blonde.  I’d always been in the capable hands of a professional who seemed to have the utmost confidence that the color he was deftly weaving through the (increasingly fine–what’s with hair getting thinner as you age? jeez, like I need any more reasons to hate aging) strands of my hair. 

And it’s been a while since I’ve seen him for color. I just couldn’t afford it anymore.  It costs me a pretty penny.  It’s worth it, but not when that money comprises your food money for two months and you have NO discretionary income.

So I’ve been waiting.  But, lately, I’ve been not happy with the fact that my hair has been looking sad. And flat.  And sad.  And flat. And did I mention sad?

So, I decided to go all out and do it myself. I figured the worst that could happen would be The Hair Color Disaster of 2007, which would see me wearing hats during my week here and making a beeline for his chair on the Tuesday I get back to Gainesville, where I would have to eat crow and promise never to do such a thing again.

The upshot was that for $14, I could get a color I liked and that infused me with some sassy confidence as I embark on my new campaign to own my awesomeness, inside and out.

That’s what happened.

I’m blonde. I’m not platinum–don’t get excited, I’m not insane–but I’m golden blonde skewing strawberry blonde (because, apparently, my natural color’s got some red in it) with some lighter blonde highlights.  It looks good. It’s got some life.  It doesn’t look like a dead animal on my head.

HOORAY!

I’ll keep you updated on my experiment results–I have a feeling that blondes DO have more fun.  😮

2 Responses to “experiment and results”

  1. What are the odds that we can persuade a picture out of you? Well?

    I never thought I would want blonde hair until my first son was born and proceeded to grow the most beautiful head full of warm blonde hair. I wanted to take him to a stylist and say, “See this color? I made this. Can you please put in on my own head now?” I figured, if it looked good on my son, who looks like me, then it was bound to look good on me.

    But then I chickened out. Not because I don’t think I could handle all of the fun, but because I don’t think I could handle all of the responsibility of keeping up with my roots.

    I guess it boils down to that I hate responsibility more than I love fun. Humpf.

    Now let me see your hair!

  2. Hahaha. Fascinating experiment, Dr. I can’t wait to hear how it goes for you. And yay for no dead animal-looking head. (Hahaha–that totally cracked me up.)

Leave a Reply

