bridal diaries: favor quotes.

i was going to write today a whining post about how MUCH I JUST WANT MY BODY TO FREAKING ADJUST to birth control already, and about how i am experiencing just the tiniest bit of what it must be like to have morning sickness and i’m NOT a fan (that’s stupid. is anyone?), and about how when i was 130 pounds heavier, somehow birth control was not this horrible, and about how periods are absolutely NOT easier (yet) because i woke up this morning, after mercifully sleeping well but dreaming about weddings all night, with literally everything except my chest and my feet in some degree of pain, and about how that, on top of whatever else it is that is plaguing my body by making me randomly feverish periodically, made me think that this was just the suckage.

BUT.

things are looking up. i ate an apple and it tasted good. i actually got more cheerful when i got to work with students at work. the time passed more quickly than i thought it would because of the aforementioned students.  my bff is the most amazing guy ever. i read weddingbee and got wedding excited. and my night will probably consist of laying on my futon mattress, sprawled out in the middle of the living room floor, watching reality television. i might possibly eat banana pancakes. or poptarts.

things are looking up.

so here’s your wedding planning update.

favor bags.

i bought some, off of oriental trading, in red and yellow (or maybe i got them in red and white? i can’t remember now…). i will fill them with some kind of candy that has yet tbd, and they will be lovely. they look something like this:

14_302

but i want to personalize them somehow.

basically, i want to schmaltz them up with a quote and something with our names and wedding date. i’ll probably use the same font as i did on our invitations, so that’s not hard.

but choosing the quote…THAT’S hard.

i randomly saw this on someone’s facebook status. it’s from wuthering heights.

“he shall never know how I love him: and that, but because he is more myself than I am. Whatever our souls are made of, his and mine are the same.”

it’s a lovely sentiment and very true for us, but i’m not sure i want my wedding tainted with what is perhaps the WORST AND MOST UNHEALTHY relationship ever captured in print.

i have had this quote on my facebook wall for ages, and i used it in the bff’s valentine’s day extravaganza gift.

Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage.–Lao Tzu.

i love that quote, but it’s not really over the top romantic, is it? just true.

so i went to the google and i googled some stuff.  these are rather lovely.

Two human loves make one divine.–Elizabeth Barret Browning

True love stories never have endings.  ~Richard Bach

Love is composed of a single soul inhabiting two bodies.–Aristotle

anyone have any others? i’m not sure i’ve found the right one yet. i haven’t even hit the song lyrics, though…that’s always an option…

5 Responses to “bridal diaries: favor quotes.”

  1. “I gave her my heart. . she gave me a pen”

    “You had me at hello”

    “Hold on tight spider monkey (or something like that)”

  2. Dear Victorian Lit Professor. If you do not choose the Elizabeth Barret Browning quote I will be SAD. That is all.

  3. Personal Question:
    How long have you been on birth control and why?

    • Personal Answer: about a month and for obvious reasons, since I’m getting married in less than two months. I was on birth control about five years ago for pelvic pain and irregular periods, but that resolved itself when I lost so much weight.

  4. Have you tried the Nuva RIng? I was MUCH less morning-sicky on the ring. My doc said it has a lower hormone level than oral birth control. Luck.

Leave a Reply

