meme to the rescue.

not a good morning for me. one of those mornings where i found myself nearly to tears because i couldn’t find something to wear, putting something on that seemed like it would work only to realize that it didn’t AT. ALL., being snappier than usual even in jest and then quick to feel bad, failing to make lunches and feeling really silly as my adorable bff, who was later than me, made me lunch because otherwise i wouldn’t eat (no real time today to buy something and also…i just don’t want to).  color me sheepish and feeling ridiculously small, which led to a little bit of crying and him hugging me tight and telling me that he believes in me and that i can do it all.

i’m a lucky girl, but it’s not been a great morning.

so when i read this at lovely brookem‘s place, i decided it was just what i needed to do to get my mind off of my not-large-at-all-in-the-grand-scheme-of-things concerns.  feel free to take it on yourself. i think it’s a good, thought-provoking one.

  • It’s not fall in Boston (or your city of origin) until the Gators begin to play.
  • Kelly Preston’s character in the movie For Love of the Game expresses her need to escape NYC because “Summer’s almost over, and I feel like I missed it.”  What do you need to do in the waning days of summer for it to feel complete?  Smell sunscreen on me again.  Spend time in the sun. Do something frivolous and childlike, whether it’s riding a carousel at a theme park or constructing a sandcastle at the beach.  I need to feel utterly weightless from the cares of the world…and when I do, I feel like summer.
  • The person I know is wrong for me but about whom I frequently think after a break-up is …..I’m kind of with brookem, who has been deliriously happy for so long with her ManFriend that angsty thoughts of past loves don’t interrupt her much at all.  I will say that I still think of the VYVIO (very young, very immature one) sometimes, though, wondering where he’s at and how he’s doing. Lately, it’s been thinking about how very clearly that relationship led me to the eternal one I’ve got, and how grateful I am for it.  And how I will never be friends with VYVIO again.  And how that’s good.
  • The US Tennis Open, one of four Grand Slam events in that sport, is currently in the quarterfinal round.  If you could only attend one major sporting event what would it be?  No question. The college football bowl game in which the Gators are playing.  It’ll be a big one, so…it’d be a great experience.
  • Assuming that you write an anonymous or partially anonymous blog, by what non-physically identifying characteristics might you be identified in a bar?  Well, I don’t…which I’ve been regretting and contemplating of late.  I think probably my particular phrases might give me away. I use a few of them here and in life, and so that might do it.  I’ve been thinking  lately of creating a more anonymous online world for myself and the bff and whatever little bffs we end up having. i don’t want to have a mommy blog, though…ugh. i just don’t know.
  • Most blogs cover some sort of niche – personal, political, dating, culinary, etc.  What topic, if any, would you like to address on your blog but doesn’t fit into your niche?  probably weight loss and recipes and cooking and politics. except i would have to have time to pay attention to politics which…i don’t.
  • If you could manipulate the time space continuum and give as many as three pieces of advice to a younger version of yourself, what advice would you give and to what age of you?  Me in high school–Less TV.  More activity.  I know you think that Ben hung the moon, but really?  Don’t turn yourself into a pretzel to make him happy so much.  Find out what makes YOU happy.  Go places. Do things. Have adventures.  And study, for the love of pete. You will regret your whole life that you didn’t give it all you had.  To mini-me at 21— You graduated.  You have no freakin’ idea what to do with your life. Take a deep breath. Every panic attack, every worry, every seemingly strange directional change is shaping you into who you are.  DO IT.  Follow your heart. It won’t steer you wrong.  In fact, it will steer you absolutely right.   To mini-me at 28— Listen. It seems like it’s going to end in heartbreak. It seems like it’s not worth the trouble.  It seems like this guy is like every other guy you’ve ever met, who is attracted by shiny things and not by substance.  Don’t give up. Just trust me. Don’t give up on him.  Be brave enough to befriend him with your whole heart. It will be much easier than you think once you decide to do it. Have faith in him. He’s really going to surprise you.  No, actually…you’re really going to surprise yourself. He helps you be brave. He helps you find those little fragments of yourself that you’ve been missing and put them together again.  He will be the best friend you have ever had.  Don’t give up on him.    You’ll never regret anything related to this.  Ever.
  • Who among your friends do you really wish had a blog because their stories, or perspective on something ought to be shared?  A few of my friends actually do have blogs, and I know them better because of it. I didn’t realize how much that was true until recently.  I think I would really like it if my cousins would write. I miss them, I don’t get to talk to them much, and I’d really love a daily (or so) glimpse into their worlds.  Their perspectives and hearts are amazing.
  • If you were to take an e-cation (vacation from the trappings of our electronic world,) and assuming that employment obligations would allow it, how long of a break could you take? What would you miss the most, the least?  A month, at least. I wonder, actually, if I would even come back to it the same way if I did.  Having taken the break that we did before and after the wedding, I think I feel differently about some things (the blog, for example).  I believe I would miss Facebook, at least initially, the most. I like to know what everybody’s doing. I would miss student emails the least. I really, really, really, really, really hate dumb questions. Boyhowdy have I gotten a few in the last month.
  • On September 11th of this year, I will be attending a couple of parties and am somewhat conflicted by the fact that this ignoble anniversary shall pass with it being just another day in the eyes of many (and in some ways my own eyes as well.) Thoughts?  We are that we might have joy. I don’t think the people who lost their lives would begrudge you your time of fun and frivolity, but I also don’t think we should be quick to forget where we came from. A lot of really tremendous good came from September 11th for Americans in general–not from the event itself, of course, but from the compassion and generosity that resulted. Remember that, perhaps, and make a conscious effort to embrace those qualities not just on an anniversary, but every day.
  • How high are your walls?  Who was the last person to scale them? What tools should would-be climbers have on their belt?  This really, really depends. I am pretty easy to be friendly with. I don’t consider myself difficult to be around, but I don’t let a lot of people in very far.  I have to trust you, and that doesn’t necessarily come easily. I’m also fiercely independent, so some people interpret that as me not liking/needing/wanting them in my life. It’s not that. I just suck at asking for help and I’m worse at letting people help when they volunteer.  Every day, the bff takes down my walls, but he’s pretty unique. I think the ones who want to get to know me and get beyond the initial walls need to have a good heart, a good sense of humor, and a willingness to invest time.
  • The sexiest thing a wo/man can say to you (or has said to you) is “you’re beautiful.” i’m pretty easy to please, though. i think most anything the bff says about his feelings for me is sexy.
2 Responses to “meme to the rescue.”

  1. When you become a mommy you will love your mommy blog. They are cliche, and often cheesy, but you’ll do it because your mom and your friends far away will love reading it. 🙂

  2. these are some great answers! hope you have a better day today. thanks for linking back to me lady!

Leave a Reply

